Tutorial: Version management
(we need help to improve this translated tutorial)jLibrary includes its own version management system. With it, you'll find very easy to recover information after doing changes on your documents.
Each time a document is updated, jLibrary stores old document content in a new version. This versions can be restored later. As you can imagine, this versions take great amounts of disk space. If this is a problem for you, you can configure the maximum number of versions that will be stored for document. You can do this altering the jlibrary.version.limit parameter on the jLibrary configuration file jlibrary.properties (check the installation guide to obtain more info about this document).
############ Version management properties ############
#
# This limits the maximum number of versions that jlibrary will keep. When an user
# updates a document, a new version is stored. If the number of versions is greater
# than this value, then the older version will be removed.
jlibrary.version.limit = 3
To restore a previous version of a document, you must first select that document. Then, right-click on it, and choose Restore previous version option menu. This option, can be disabled. If it's disabled, then the selected document never have been modified. Update the document, right-click again on it, and you'll see how the restore menu option appears now enabled.
Once Restore previous version has been selected, the version magement dialog will appear. The upper dialog pane allow to choose the different versions. Those versions appear chronologically ordered in a tree.
If you select one of those versions, you'll see the content of that selected version on the left lower pane. In the right pane, it will always be fixed the current version content. The tabs at the bottom of the panes, will allow you to compare content and metadata of the document versions. Remember, that any minimal change on a document, generates a new version. So if you find two documents that appear to be equals on their content, maybe they are different on their metadata. So, remember always to check metadata and content.
If you wish to restore a previous version, press the Restore button. Immediately the metadata and content of the choosen version will be loaded on your active editor. The document, will pass to updated state, and the Save toolbar button will be enabled. You must save the document to restore a version definitely. This save requirement offer a final opportunity to cancel the changes if you find that the version isn't appropiate. So if you don't want to restore that version, simply close the document and don't save the changes.
Congratulations ! Now, you know how to manage your document versions :-)
-martin
